Slate 2 (Collecting Archives)

We have been counting down to Night Light for the past 40 days. Today was day -1 of that countdown. This day has become a holding point to remember of when my revolution began. A revolution against my flesh. As Pastor Chilly goes into, the counting of my in depth getting to know you session with Jesus Christ does not stop with today, but it continues, 41, 42…. I focused on the teaching of how God used people in 40 days in so that I began to think that at the end of these 40 I would get to relax and then I would begin to serve him new ways. It is not time to relax and get a bite of what I have been putting off in my search for a deeper relationship, it is now time to realize the significance of faith building and continue, not backing down. Those forty days were a training session for the rest of my life in Christ. Boldness is a gift but it will be my searching desire and determination to step out in it as I try to remove my attempts to do life on my own. I want to meet God where he is.

Collecting Archives

As we lone archived wisdom built from self-diagnoses,

our security secures root in Agonistes’ prognosis.

Centers built upon effort calls for pride to side with giants,

Renewing our faith, God’s support sought my self-deniance.

Philistines’ hero came blind to battle, angry to feed

Mankind’s title lost between two rows of militant muscle backed greed.

A king for a day will become a cliche for tomorrow.

When the strength of God’s love settles on even the greatest sorrow.

Xerces battled 300 whose drumbeat was to the death,

Eden’s beauty greeted fallen angels as one fruit yielded sin’s breath.

Blindness to act and blindness to reason,

blindness understood as my soul exposes it’s treason.

Agents of heaven, seduced, toppled by agents of greedy leaven.

In a garden, Eve with Adam invited God’s son to become our brethren.

The dead will say the best way to succeed

is if everyone will do the best for themselves in deed.

But to lie down a life is truth conquered in scripture,

as in flesh suicide we become to all a hill, green for pasture.

Humility removes planks we build with each day,

Pride rebuilds the fortress holding together our way.

To think Our step out on our own isn’t a tourniquet to be,

is forgetting that It took the Rock three days to fossilize eternity.

A love to be known.

Fix any desert with life giving water.

Will I not be in a cliche if my mind sets for my reason?

my soul to destroy, should the spirit’s air I breathe

setting breath to His tongue, is it even my air that I see?

Snakes wrapped around my curtain until it was ripped with a groan,

they were invited with my desire until God called me home.
Sin’s phoenix will rise as temptation meets me in morn time,

Armor yourself with His word and run out ready to battle front line.
Free the captives found in your insecurities, guilt, frailties and remorse.

Let God hold your ways and set sail in his promise, strength, peace and plotted course.

2 comments
  1. Andrea Gideon said:

    That is awesome steve 🙂 Praying for you bro

  2. What a good poem!!! Here are some of my favorite lines:

    1. “Eden’s beauty greeted fallen angels as one fruit yielded sin’s breath.” – beautifully said.

    2. “Mankind’s title lost between two rows of militant muscle backed greed.” – There’s a nice cadence to that pairing of words.

    3. “Snakes wrapped around my curtain until it was ripped with a groan,
    they were invited with my desire until God called me home.” – Wow!

    Keep up the good work! I hope your travels are going well. I’m praying for you.

Leave a Reply

