Designated Suffering

I just came across Hebrews 5:8-9. This just leveled me.

Although Jesus was a  son (God’s), he learned obedience from he suffered and, once made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him.

I run from the suffering I don’t want. I run from it trying everything I can to fix it or just not deal with it. I even curse my suffering in my mind, indirectly in my words and creatively in my works.

God however, even taught his own physical son through the suffering in his life. What did he teach Jesus? Obedience. The ability of discernment and recognition of God’s voice. I want that but show mercy on me lord. Through that suffering which Jesus did endure and ultimately died from, Jesus was made perfect.

So in my suffering, should I long for something else I can compare myself to or run? No. I should consider every trial in the will of God from which he allowed and from which he will deliver me if it glorifies him. Each trial can teach me to be more like Christ. How stubborn I am when faced with the work of the perfection my spirit desires to become.

1 comment
  1. altonwoods said:

    Hebrews 5:7 Who in the days of His flesh,when He had offered up prayers and supplications with strong crying and tears unto Him that was able to save Him from death,and was heard in that He feared;

    Each of us experience the pain of growth. Jesus faced fear and did exactly what He was supposed to do! He truly is the author and finisher of our faith!

Leave a Reply

