Can’t seem to Rest.

God is light in him there is no darkness. God revealed to me today that I had yet another systematic approach to seeking him that I needed to die to. My reasoning was this, If I deny the world for long enough, God will eventually give me the status I want in this life because then I will have the right motives to handle that status. It was awesome to see God open up a new part of my heart that I didn’t know needed working on as I was praying. When that thought came into my head I knew it was something God was working on in my heart.
I am taking today mostly off to seek God. Also known as a day of rest aka sabbath. It is mostly off.
I claim to have fellowship with God and continually ask him if I still walk in darkness.
In this segment of my day I am writing to encourage the saints and those seeking.
The more I am seeking the more I am finding that the bible tells us what God has done and is not about great people in history that have done something for God.
Taking more of the opportunities given to me to talk to people.
God gives us responsibilities to finish, not just to start.
“Rest for your soul does not come after the economic crisis is over, after the dollar turns around, or after your support is raised, rest for your soul can be given to you by Jesus… at anytime. He is not limited by any of our circumstances. His rest is never in short supply. He never runs out. It is not a false, temporary rest like a weekend off, then by Tuesday you are slammed again. It is a rest that can find its way into the deepest fears and worries of your soul. His rest is not simply for the shallow places. His rest can invade the hardest struggles and heaviest burdens. His rest does not arrive after the fact, but can be experienced right in the midst of it all.”

3 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    Truth, well-spoken. It’s so great to see/hear what God is doing in your life!

  2. Chilly said:

    … yeah, starting strong isn’t enough … MUST finish!

Leave a Reply

