Missing Church

I call on God as a witness against me. I never want control of your faith. I will work though with you for your joy. Your joy is important to me because you stand by faith and often forget what that means. We need to know the Body. I am going through an affliction caused by doubt, not circumstance, as circumstance cannot touch me. Doubt lives inside until answered, the focused call from the Lord. Then abolished is the unholy fear that can spawn in the spiral of gravity within thought. I am writing as someone currently missing my congregation’s meeting this morning in Hamtramck. This part of the church though is sitting at Avalon, wishing I was with everyone else worshiping the Lord. Being encouraged, encouraging and being depended upon in a reasonable understandable fashion. If I was in Hamtramck I would be with you all, if I wasn’t then I wouldn’t be located to speak to a Jewish man who is interested in Christianity and it’s relation to the old testament. It was a 3 minute conversation that ended in joy.

I came to Detroit for the Gospel of Christ. 5 years into it I now depend on the same calling to open the next account. When you live in a place long enough, you see people’s resumes being built as time goes on. The woman seen at Mercury Coffee Bar, now at Sappenos Pizza for example. It is sometimes hard to see change within a year, but over 3 years some common traces or foundations can be noticed a difference to prior.

“Are you reading your Bible?” The Jewish man asked and continued, “Its a good day to”.

Do I commend myself for taking the bold step of answering the Detroit Free Press’ call for me to move from LA to Detroit without ever seeing Detroit? I was a ten second walk from the beaches even Italians dream about. Do I commend myself for how I led a newspaper to 4 Emmys. Do I commend myself for being able or not able to own and and maintain the status quo built automobile environment? The depths of the Lord are ingrained in Isaiah 55. Are some people naturally grafted in Christ to be the ones through Christ and daily afflictions to ultimately soften others hearts. To God we are the fragrance of Christ and that fragrance is not a choice nor is the self accreditation when God, whom chooses to always display in Christ, spreads through us in every place the scent of knowing him. I would rather have heard from my pastor today and not be a burden to anyone who needs to give a ride, though I know many would serve happily in that way.

It is midday and a reflection of the sun is coming through the cafe grid plated windows from the windshield of a car parked in the front space. It is almost blinding. The reflection is hard for me to look at because my eyes have to adjust. But looking away I am still drawn to study it.

The success of some black and white photographs is the placement of the point of highest contrast. The eye is drawn first there.

I pray the Lord uses my fouled plans of meeting someone here who would have taken me to church for his glory. I pray that my congregation knows Christ more today by his allowance.

5 people in bar scenes have verbally inquired about my faith over the past two weeks which have been two weeks of attacks and feeling failures, doubt and struggle and closer to the Lord I walk by step. By step without feeling or seeing. I respond by talking about the congregation that I am part and how Christ has used the broken to change me from the heart out.

I am finding many who have fallen away from the faith by pressures and world. They seem relieved to have a receptor and a instigator in their life again. They add the freedom in the world with the freedom of Christ when they speak to me and I respond by writing into their lives with 2Cor 3:3 ink.

We must persevere, Hold on, God promises. Verbalize your doubts. Run to those doubts and find a new hope in that old fear. I go most often over the past weeks to the Lord asking him to save me and then against feeling I remember others and pray for them too. Fill yourself with the word.

2 Cor
Look up. 2 Cor 2:14-17. It is awesome.
2Cor 3-on.
Are we beginning to commend ourselves again? Or like some, do we need letters of recommendation to you or from you? 2 You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, recognized and read by everyone, (A) 3 since it is plain that you are Christ’s letter, (B) produced [a] by us, not written with ink but with the Spirit of the living God; (C) not on stone tablets (D) but on tablets that are hearts of flesh. (E)

Paul’s Competence
4 We have this kind of confidence toward God through Christ: 5 not that we are competent in [b] ourselves to consider anything as coming from ourselves, but our competence is from God. (F) 6 He has made us competent to be ministers of a new covenant, (G) not of the letter, (H) but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit produces life.

New Covenant Ministry
7 Now if the ministry of death, chiseled in letters on stones, came with glory, (I) so that the sons of Israel were not able to look directly at Moses’ face because of the glory from his face—a fading [glory]— 8 how will the ministry of the Spirit not be more glorious? 9 For if the ministry of condemnation had glory, the ministry of righteousness overflows with even more glory. 10 In fact, what had been glorious is not glorious in this case because of the glory that surpasses it. 11 For if what was fading away (J) was glorious, what endures will be even more glorious.

12 Therefore having such a hope, (K) we use great boldness— 13 not like Moses, who used to put a veil over his face (L) so that the sons of Israel could not look at the end of what was fading away. 14 But their minds were closed. (M) [c] For to this day, at the reading of the old covenant, (N) the same veil remains; it is not lifted, because it is set aside [only] in Christ. (O) 15 However, to this day, whenever Moses is read, a veil lies over their hearts, 16 but whenever a person turns (P) to the Lord, the veil is removed. (Q) 17 Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18 We all, with unveiled faces, are reflecting (R) [d] the glory of the Lord (S) and are being transformed (T) into the same image (U) from glory to glory; [e] this is from the Lord who is the Spirit. [f]

5 comments
  1. mo said:

    Miss you man. See you soon.

  2. Deborah said:

    Continue to listen.

  3. Janie said:

    [what translation do you use? i like it.]

    You said:
    “We must persevere, Hold on, God promises. Verbalize your doubts”

    My thought…A 19th century hymn:

    I must tell Jesus all of my trials;
    I cannot bear these burdens alone,
    In my distress He kindly will help me,
    He ever loves and cares for His own.

    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    I cannot bear my burdens alone;
    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.

    I must tell Jesus all of my troubles,
    He is a kind, compassionate Friend;
    If I but ask Him, He will deliver,
    Makes of my troubles quickly an end.

    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    I cannot bear my burdens alone;
    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.

    O how the world to evil allures me!
    O how my heart is tempted to sin!
    I must tell Jesus, and He will help me
    over the world the vict’ry to win.

    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    I cannot bear my burdens alone;
    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.

  4. the other erin said:

    “We must persevere, Hold on, God promises. Verbalize your doubts. Run to those doubts and find a new hope in that old fear. I go most often over the past weeks to the Lord asking him to save me and then against feeling I remember others and pray for them too. Fill yourself with the word.” – soooooooo good! thanks for sharing this encouragement!

    “We all, with unveiled faces, are reflecting the glory of the Lord and are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory; this is from the Lord who is the Spirit. ” … even better… and again, thanks! So glad to have you for a brother!

Leave a Reply

