Bike Through Forest Shoot

What a great day of shooting!!!

My wife and I just got done shooting at Stoney Creek Metro Park outside of Detroit. We had an amazing volunteer crew who helped us a ton! Dennis and Red hauled in over 40 lbs of counter weights for the crane, two tripods, two camera bodies and lenses and audio gear. It was a mile in to the still winterized forest. I took the liberty of walking in the 10 foot crane (after all I have literally hauled this thing all over the world from Austria to Vietnam on different shoots so 1 mile didn’t seem that hard).  Derek Fischer was our talent and was killin it on his Specialized Enduro.

I heard that if you want to be hired in what you love to shoot, that you should already be shooting it. And currently, I have very little experience shooting outdoor sports like biking and snowboarding. Cory and I have all types of experience outdoors but never trying to make beautiful cine at the same time. I have been uber inspired lately to start filming outdoor sports.

I don’t think there has ever been this amount of amazing outdoor sports films out at one time in my entire life. The great thing about these films are that they include great story telling WITH great cinematography. My three favorite films right now are “All I Can”, “The Art of Flight” and “Life Cycles”.  I have been recently introduced to these filmish dreams and they have blown my mind with creativity and late night planning sessions of how to begin implementing what I am watching into my own cine vocabulary.

Our first major scene was a crane shot at the first log kicker about two miles into the forest. We had Derek hold his bike up for focus and framing before we started shooting. The goal of this two hour shoot in the woods was to get 4-5 good crane shots and 1 mounted tripod plate for a year long timelapse.

Image

Our second shoot had the crane up in the woods on the same shot for a wide cut away. Dennis (who is an amazing photographer) was stuck holding the crane up as I talked with Cory where she should have the second camera.

Image

My Awesome wife Cory on second camera for the impossible 200mm rack focus of Derek flying down the single track. (rocking her 80’s headband too!!!)

Image

For such wide shots, we stuck a h4n audio recorder hidden under leaves by the trail. There are tons of people in Stoney Creek Metro Park so we hid our tripod plate under some wood. Can you see it below? We’ll see if it is around in two weeks when we shoot the first leaves sprouting from all the trees. Image

After a successful shoot we cruised home in the dark. Image

Leave a Reply

