The Healthy Satisfaction of Separation from Creating

“Proverbs 3 trust in The Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding and in all your ways acknowledge him.”

Practical Wisdom in Biblical literature pushes us away from Self reliance and towards a trust and dependence on God.

In my life right now i am researching, almost tirelessly, a purpose for living in this city bc of the amazing change i see around me with the developments in downtown. In doing so I have found what quite possibly is the continuation of God’s plans all along; that I would simply tell the same story as I have been over the past 8 years In this city but with a greater more focused purpose. This excites me greatly.

With that excitement combined with my creative capacity, I can easily rush the risk of searching for fulfillment in my calling, spending so much time, energy and resource as I have time and Time again.

My drive has led me around the world. I’ve personally seen impressive oppression and injustice as Ive wandered across the globe; human trafficking in Eastern Europe, hunger in central Africa, children with American government caused disease in south Asian countries and I can come to this informed theological view: as i look for satisfaction on earth, this planet doesn’t have what it takes to ultimately give me what I actually need to gain complete me. And if we’re honest, that completeness is the fundamental basis of a great majority of our daily decisions, conversations, tweets and motives.

There are a lot of good, freaking awesome fun things in this world and making films for me is one of them. Satisfaction and contentment in being happy (for me happy with my work) is not bad but if I fail to find my ultimate satisfaction in God I will be left seeking.

And so my prayer for my family and community reflects this below which in due process will leave a healthy satisfaction of separation from creating.

1 Colossians
9 For this reason also, since the day we heard of it, we have not ceased to pray for you and to ask that you may be filled with the [k]knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, 10 so that you will walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, [l]to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and [m]increasing in the [n]knowledge of God; 11 strengthened with all power, according to [o]His glorious might, [p]for the attaining of all steadfastness and [q]patience; joyously 12 giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified us [r]to share in the inheritance of the [s]saints in Light.

This is not at all complete, merely thoughts from a study before bed. Please advise.

Leave a Reply

